Daily Prompt: Teacher’s Pet

Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life, either for the better or the worse. How is your life different today because of him or her?

Looks like today’s daily prompt will give me a chance to talk about why I love English and how I became a travel writer (in English).

I was 9 and the communism era just ended in Romania. In our school there was an announcement that we could take free English classes for half a year and then take an exam to study English 9 hrs/week during the next 4 years (grades 5 to 8). Somehow I convinced my parents to allow me to go to those free classes and one day the teacher asked me to go by her house for some private lessons, too.

I was hooked! She used to let us watch cartoons in English and I still remember the first movie I’ve ever seen without subtitles – Never Ending Story I. Thanks to her I am still addicted to Shakespeare!

I did take the exam and studied so much English in 4 years that by 1st year of High school I was able to annoy my English teach (another one, of course) with my skills.

By the time I was in the 1st year of University I started doing translation work (Romanian – English – Romanian) and also started to write a bit. But it wasn’t until 2005 (24 years old) that I started looking for freelance jobs only in English and got hooked on travel writing.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Teacher’s Pet

  1. I had an English class my Junior year in high school where all we did was study Shakespeare. I was already a fan of his work before then, and while the teacher didn’t do much to develop my appreciation, being immersed in the Bard’s works for a full year was an absolute blast.

    • As much as I like him I wouldn’t be that excited about a year studying only his work for a year :)) but every single trimester from 5th grade up to 12th grade we had at least 2 or 3 of his works on our curricula. Plus we used to put shows on the stage for our teacher.

Leave a Reply

