Daily Prompt: Plead the Fifth

What question do you hate to be asked? Why?

Today’s daily prompt hit home. There’s one question which ALWAYS has bugged me and the last time I heard it , it almost made me yell at the person who asked it.

The question? Is there a baby coming ? or When are you going to have a baby?

On Alex’s birthday, 15 days before our wedding, we were out with friends. I do not drink alcohol as in…almost never (with the exception of maybe a Cosmopolitan …once a year). And I ordered a lemonade. Someone had to ask whether I was pregnant. I didn’t know what to say, I just smiled and said “I don’t drink alcohol”.

Six months after the wedding, we ran into two friends. First question: when is the baby coming? Really, that’s the first thing you ask someone when you ran into them on the street?

I believe that our personal life is private and whether or when we plan to have a baby is certainly our choice. I don’t look pregnant even if I am not exactly the thinnest person around. Sometimes I wish people would know at least some basic good manners!

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Plead the Fifth

  1. No, your personal life will never be private. Especially not when it involves children and pregnancy. If you don’t put up a huge sign outside your house saying “currently trying to get pregnant” you’ll annoy everyone around you.

    • Excuse me? That’s actually rude to be put on ‘baby watch’ especially in the group of friends. Sometimes I wish I was more sarcastic in my answers but I remember that I’m not rude. Or at least not until they become too annoying with questions. And I don’t even know if I want kids..or not. [at least I don’t know now]

      • Baby watch… that’s exactly what it is. I don’t know why people think it’s their business. I really don’t know. Personally, I think it’s terrible that, when you’re in a stable relationship, you’re automatically expected to get pregnant.

        • Yeah , as if your life isn’t “complete” wt/out a baby or the entire purpose of a stable relationship is to have a baby. I am lucky my parents know better – but I’ve had my fair share of talks with them. I guess we can both work on our snappy answers :) LOL

Leave a Reply

