Daily Prompt: Take It From Me

Today’s daily prompt:

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve given someone that you failed to take yourself?

In general, I try to stay away from giving advices. Sure, I talk to my friends, tell my opinion but never state anything under the “advice” label. Psychologically speaking, someone comes and asks for an advice when they’ve already taken a decision but they need approval. Or a good reason to give another thought.

In my line of business, I have to give travel-related advice daily to customers. I love doing that because it gives my mind something to do and I am never stuck in a rut. Generally, I tell people to travel by bus or train within Europe, because distances aren’t that long. And it’s fun to see the scenery.

And here I am looking for a flight to London. Yes, I can argue that the distance from Arad to London by car is 1989 km and there’s no direct connection anyway but wasn’t I the one who actually wants to travel within Europe by rail, exploring the beautiful cities?

I could easily travel by train to Budapest – stay couple of days there – then continue to Vienna – of course, stop to explore the city a bit – continue further to Frankfurt and then cross the channel on the Eurostar. But being the budget travelers that we are, such a slow and amazing way to explore Europe would set up back at least 4 times the budget we have for London.

So, there you have it: the best advice I’ve always given to travelers – explore Europe at a snail pace – is something that I haven’t done myself (yet).

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Take It From Me

  1. We’re quite the complete opposite on this field, I don’t give advices when it comes to giving directions, I just have a puny brain for directions. But I give advice to anything else even though I’m not so sure with my advices haha :)

    • Well, I have to give travel advice given my job, and on the blog I stick to things I’ve tried myself. Otherwise I pretty much stay away from poking my nose in other people’s business.

  2. Pingback: HARVEST TRUST « hastywords

Leave a Reply

